The UEFA European Under-17 Championship finals draw in Ayia Napa will split hosts Cyprus and the 15 teams emerging from March’s elite round into four groups of four. The draw took place yesterday evening at Agia Napa Marina.

Tournament ambassador Karolina Pelendritou, three-time Paralympic swimming gold-medallist, made the draw. The finals run from 20 May to 5 June.

Groups are:

Group A: Cyprus (hosts), Ukraine, Serbia, Czechia

Group B: Denmark, Austria, Croatia, Wales

Group C: Italy, Sweden, Slovakia, Poland

Group D: France, Portugal, Spain, England

According to UEFA website, hosts Cyprus will take on Czechia, Serbia and Ukraine in Group A. Meanwhile, 2023 runners-up France take on fellow former champions England, Spain and Portugal in Group D. Holders Germany did not qualify.

The top two in each group will progress to the knockout phase in the last 16-team tournament before U17 EURO reverts to an eight-nation finals from 2025.

The tournament will be played at six stadiums, with the final at Limassol Arena in Limassol. The stadiums are Dasaki Achnas Stadium in Dasaki, Ammochostos Epistrofi Stadium in Larnaca, Antonis Papadopoullos Stadium in Larnaca, AEK Arena in Larnaca, Limassol Stadium and Paralimni Municipal Stadium Tasos Markou.

Addressing the ceremony, President of the Cyprus Football Association (CFA) George Koumas conveyed his enthusiasm for organising the final phase of the EURO Under-17 in Cyprus, stressing that this event is a “huge challenge for everyone in the CFA.” 

Cyprus, as the host has been placed in the lead in the first group and will play on May 20, 23 and 26. On 20 and 26 May the national team’s matches will take place at the AEK Arena and on 23 May at the Antonis Papadopoulos Stadium, starting at 20:30. The final is on June 5 at the Alphamega Stadium in Limassol.

Leave a Reply