We will never accept a two-state solution’ says the Committee of Occupied Municipalities

The Committee of Cyprus Occupied Municipalities, in a press release points out that the Turkish-occupied municipalities of Cyprus will never accept a two-state solution or a confederation that will seal the division of Cyprus.

They also express concern on the fact the Turkey and the occupying regime in Cyprus are now openly presenting their divisive demands for a solution to the Cyprus problem, different from the framework defined in various Resolutions of the United Nations.

“These claims also ignore the fact that Cyprus is a member state of the European Union and therefore the solution should be in line with its principles and values,” it is added.

On the forthcoming five-party meeting under the auspices of the United Nations, the Committee notes that in order to be successful, it must be first made clear that the positions of the parties are not being discussed outside the established framework.

“The Occupied Municipalities make it clear in every direction that they will never accept a solution that will seal the division of our country (2 states or a confederation) and will strongly stand up with all legal means at their disposal, in order to prevent such a catastrophic development”, is it noted.

The aim, continues the announcement, is a solution that ensures the human rights and, above all, the free return to the currently occupied territories.

Cyprus has been divided since 1974, when Turkey invaded and occupied its northern third. The latest UN backed round of talks took place in 2017, n the Swiss resort of Crans Montana, but failed to yield any results.

Leave a Reply