State Universities from small EU member-states decided to join forces in a bid to contribute to the development of the society of knowledge by 2020, and to eliminate disadvantages stemming from their small size.

A total of 23 universities from Luxembug, Malta, Esthonia, Latvia. Lithuania, Slovenia and Cyprus attended the founding assembly of the European Union Universities of Small States (EU2S2), held at the University of Cyprus, in the presence of Cypriot Minister of Education and Culture Andreas Demetriou.

Addressing the assembly Rector of the University of Cyprus Constantinos Christofides said the target of the Union is to constructively participate and contribute to the EU goals as higher education, research, innovation, economy and governance.

“So our scope is to participate and not to isolate our selves from the other universities and other countries of Europe,“ he said

Leave a Reply