Simos Ioannou, Iosif Violaris and Viktoras Hatziavraam prevailed over their opponents in the occupied municipalities of Famagusta, Kyrenia and Morphou, respectively, with their election, however, being overshadowed by the low turnout in all three occupied municipalities, 40.74% for Famagusta, 44.33% for Kyrenia and just 37.79% for Morphou.

Famagusta District


In the occupied Municipality of Famagusta, Simos Ioannou, has been re-elected with a percentage of 39.3% compared to 30.5% of Andreas Vrahimis, 16% of Linos Papagiannis, 8.1% of Clairi Chatzikakos and 6% of Vassilis Mavros. The turnout was 40.74%.

In the occupied Municipality of Lysi, Andreas Kaouris secured his re-election with 79.2% of votes compared to 20.8% of Kyriakos Larkou. The turnout reached 48.35%.

In the occupied Municipality of Lefkoniko, after a derby determined by a difference of just 5 votes, Pieris Gypsiotis has been elected as Mayor with 50.2% against Zenovia Lyssandrou-Panagides who got 49.8%. Turnout reached 63.57%.

In the occupied Municipality of Akanthou, where the turnout reached 70.88%, Eleni Chatzimichael-Mylonas succeeded in her re-election securing a percentage of 62%, compared to 38% of her opponent Eleni Iosif.

Kyrenia District


In the occupied Municipality of Kyrenia, Iosif Violaris has been elected Mayor with a percentage of 66.2% compared to 33.8% of Odysseas Patsalides got. Election turnout was 44.33%.

In occupied Lapithos, after a race of 4 candidates, Soula Mouretou managed with 27.5% to win over opponents Demetris Minas (26.2%), Andreas Savva (23.7%) and Renos Koumis (22.5%). Turnout reached 50.1%.

In the occupied Municipality of Karavas, Nikos Hatzistefanou was elected Mayor with a percentage of 56.4% compared to 43.6% of Damianos Hazidamianos. Turnout at 56.29%.

Nicosia District


In the occupied Municipality of Morphou, Viktor Hatziavraam was re-elected as Mayor with 50.9% against 25.4% of Michalis Georgiades and 13.7% of Antigoni Perikleous Papadopoulou. The turnout was 37.79%.

Finally, in the occupied Municipality of Kythrea, Michalis Zambakides was elected, with 54.7% against 45.3% of Evangelia Pavlidou-Michael. The turnout reached 50.68%.

Cyprus has been divided since 1974, when Turkish troops invaded and occupied 37% of its territory.

Leave a Reply