A total of 32 special polling stations will be in place the Nicosia, Larnaca and Famagusta districts for the exercise of the right to vote by Turkish Cypriots who are included in the special electoral roll for the European elections, the Chief Returning Officer, said in a press release on Monday.

In the Nicosia district, 2 polling stations will operate at the Kato Pyrgos Gymnasium, 2 at the Flasou Community Council Offices, 4 at the Astromeritis Community Council Offices, 5 at the Agios Dometios Multifunctional Centre, 5 at the Town Planning and Housing Headquarters and 5 at the Nicosia Old Market Place.

In Larnaca district, 2 polling stations will operate at the Xylotympou Regional High School.

In Famagusta district, 2 polling stations will be used at the Acheritou Primary School and 5 at the Deryneia Public and Community Kindergarten.

Cyprus has been divided since 1974, when Turkey invaded and occupied its northern third. Repeated rounds of UN-led peace talks have so far failed to yield results.

The latest round of negotiations, in July 2017 at the Swiss resort of Crans-Montana ended inconclusively. UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres appointed María Ángela Holguín Cuéllar of Columbia as his personal envoy for Cyprus, to assume a Good Offices role on his behalf and search for common ground on the way forward in the Cyprus issue.

Leave a Reply