EU Foreign Ministers meet in Brussels, on Monday, where they are expected to adopt a regulation on restrictive measures in relation to illegal Turkish drilling activities in the Eastern Mediterranean, inter alia.

The EU has already decided to impose restrictive measures against natural and legal persons related to, benefiting from, carrying out or supporting illegal Turkish drilling within the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of the Republic of Cyprus.

The decision of the 28 Member States was adopted unanimously during a meeting of Foreign Ministers on Monday, October 14, and was ratified at the highest political level by the European Council Summit of October 17.

The October 14th decision came in the wake of warnings and a previous package of measures against Turkey on the same issue, which was decided again in June at the level of leaders and ministers respectively.

Ministers had on 14 October instructed a relevant committee of the Council to draw up and present the relevant EU Regulation on sanctions against persons and companies, and then the addressees of the sanctions would have to be named.

Moreover, a recent Spiegel report said that EU member states, such as Cyprus, are expected to propose measures against Ankara, which will require subsequently approval. Diplomats expect that the government of Cyprus will soon submit relevant proposals for measures, Spiegel wrote.

On October 14, the Council reaffirmed its full solidarity with Cyprus in light of Turkey’s continued illegal drilling activities in the Eastern Mediterranean.

Furthermore, the Council recalled its conclusions of July 15, 2019, noting among others that the delimitation of exclusive economic zones and continental shelf should be addressed through dialogue and negotiation in good faith, in full respect of international law and in accordance with the principle of good neighbourly relations.

Leave a Reply