Six clubs currently participating in European football competitions, including Turkey’s Trabzonspor, will be temporarily withheld from their prize money for failure to comply with financial requirements, the UEFA has announced Sept. 20.

Such sanctions are handed by the governing body of European football to clubs that have a considerable amount of overdue payables towards employees, other clubs or tax authorities.

Along with Trabzonspor, Romania’s Astra Ploieşti, Ukraine’s Metalurh Donetsk, Croatia’s Hajduk Split, Bosnia and Herzegovian’s Zrinjski, and Latvia’s Skonto Riga were also sanctioned during UEFA Club Financial Control Body investigatory chamber’s meeting in Dubrovnik.

“This [precautionary] measure will remain in force until all identified balances have been settled in full, or until a final decision by the CFCB adjudicatory chamber is taken,” The UEFA said in a statement.

The other 25 clubs will be monitored until the end of month, the statement also said.

Trabzonspor had made a good start to Europa League’s group stage, clinching a 2-1 victory in Greek Cyprus against Apollon Limassol. The Black Sea side will play five other matches in the Group J, which also includes Legia Varosovia and Lazio, but it will have to provide an updated situation to UEFA to benefit from the prize money for each win and draw.

Leave a Reply