Apoel 0 Anorthosis 1

The Champions Apoel had a day of celebration and a festive day it was  of enjoying their 21st championship. Shame it was by marred a defeat against Anorthosis who scored in the 59th minute with a goal from Cafu.

AEL 2 Olympiakos 0

AEL defeated Olympiakos in an empty Tsireio Stadium 2-1 . Olympiakos took the lead in the 25th second with Kenmokne. AEL equalised with Silas in the 22nd minute and  the winning goal came to AEL by the way of Garpozis.

AEK 1 Omonia 2

The game was pretty even  and the game only really woke up when AEK took a one nil with an own goal in the 62nd minute. Omonia equalised in the 88th minute with a goal from Leandro, the winner came in the third minute of added time scored for Omonia by Rencifo.

Apollon 3 Enosis Neon Paralimniou 0

Apollon were very convincing winners over Enosis Neon Paralimniou and are building up form for their Cup semi final due very soon. Apollon’s scorers were Katsavakis, Kosofski and Mirtakovits.

Ethnikos 0 Alki 3

Easy win for Alki their goals coming from Bas , Megkrelasvili and Al Saif .

AEP 1 Ermis 1

AEP’s goal came from Aspa and Ermis  from Makrantze

At present, 14 clubs compete in the league. Each club plays the others twice, once at their home stadium and once at that of their opponents, which makes a total of 26 games for each club. Since 2007-08 the league has a second round. In the second round the first 12 teams are separated into groups of 4 teams according to their position at the end of the first round. The last two teams are relegated to the second division. The points from the first round are carried to the second round and the teams play the other teams twice.

In the play offs teams receive three points for a win and one point for a draw. No points are awarded for a loss.

The league champions are entitled to entrance in the UEFA Champions League in the first qualifying round. The winner of the Cypriot Cup and runner-up in the league automatically enters the UEFA Europa League second qualifying round. The third placed team enters the UEFA Europa League on the first qualifying round. If the cup winners are also league champions, then the losing cup finalists are granted a UEFA Europa League berth. If the cup winners qualify for Europe by their league position, then the fourth-placed team in the league qualifies for the UEFA Europa League.

Leave a Reply