Cyprus has emerged as one of the favourites to win Eurovision 2018 following the first round of semi-finals which took place in Lisbon on Tuesday evening.

Eleni Foureira, representing our island with the fiery Fuego, gave a magnificent performance at the Altice Arena with many insiders believing that Cyprus could be about to win the song contest for the first time.

Her odds of winning went from 66-1 to 5-2 after Tuesday’s semi-finals.

Israel with the song Toy had been a longstanding favourite of bookmakers, but Netta Barzilai’s odds have dropped 11-4.

It was a disappointing night for Greece represented by Yianna Terzi with the song Oneiro Mou which she wrote and composed alongside Aris Kalimeris, Michalis Papathanasiou and Dimitris Stamatiou.

The song and performance did not live up to expectations and Greece became one of the 9 countries eliminated.

Nineteen artists competed for the 10 tickets to the Grand Final on Saturday May 12.

The fates of the semi-finalists were decided by a combination of votes from national juries and viewers.

Ireland qualified for the first final in five years.

The grand final will feature 26 participants including Portugal (host), Big-5 (Germany, Spain, France, Italy and United Kingdom), the top 10 from the first semi-final and the top 10 from the second semi-final.

After the two Eurovision semifinals the order of appearance of the competing contries has been announced!
Out of the 26 countries, Cyprus will appear at the 25th place, second-to-last before Italy.

Saturday’s final will take place at Lisbon’s Altice Arena and will be shown at 8PM on BBC

How to vote in the Eurovision 2018 final

People from any of the 43 competing nations can vote in the Eurovision 2018 grand final.

Much like the semi-final rounds, votes can only be cast once all the songs have been performed.

There will again be 15 minutes for people to choose who they want to win and votes can be cast using telephone, SMS or the app.

Just like the semi-finals, viewers have up to 20 votes but can’t select their own country.

Could the 63rd Eurovision Song Contest prove lucky for Cyprus?

The running order of Saturday’s Grand Final
01. Ukraine
02. Spain
03. Slovenia
04. Lithuania
05. Austria
06. Estonia
07. Norway
08. Portugal
— break position
09. United Kingdom
10. Serbia
11. Germany
12. Albania
13. France
14. Czech Republic
15. Denmark
16. Australia
— break position
17. Finland
18. Bulgaria
19. Moldova
20. Sweden
21. Hungary
22. Israel
23. The Netherlands
24. Ireland
25. Cyprus
26. Italy

Eleni Foureira Born in 1987 in Albania, pop singer Eleni began her solo career in 2010 with the release of her first album and has since enjoyed several successes in both Greece and Cyprus.

We wish her the best of luck and hope to see next year’s Eurovision Song Contest hosted in Cyprus!

Leave a Reply