Apoel are Cyprus Football League champions after beating Anorthosis 2-1 on their home ground.

The result leaves Apoel four points clear of second-placed Apollon, who faced Omonia in their final game on Sunday.

Apoel could not afford to lose this match but they made it difficult for themselves.

Anorthosis took the lead in the 25th minute with Parlanca.

But Apoel equalised three minutes later with former Birmingham City player Nsue.Apoel left it really late with two minutes to go to score their winning goal through Pote to ensure a victory and the championship for Apoel.

In the other games AEK beat AEL 3-2 and Omonia beat second placed 1-0 Apollon.

The season ends with Apoel champions, runners up Apollon who go into the Europa League with Anorthosis and AEK.

Top League scorer was Matt Derbyshire with 23 goals.

Tελική βαθμολογία στον Α’ όμιλο:

Leave a Reply